It all happens in threes -Dorothy Symonds

Ever had one of those months that seems to ridiculous to be true ?

This was a few years ago, clumsy does not even cover it.

It was Thursday number one, I had fed the family my husband took off to play volleyball. I was doing the dishes, next minute I pulled my hand out of the sink and wow there was a fork with the whole prong stuck in the webbing between my pinky finger and ring finger. I did not feel anything and was so shocked, my daughter saw what had happened and took off and called my husband, before I knew it he was back running up me saying are you ok what happened?

My daughter had told him “get home quick Mum stabbed herself” ha ha a quick trip to emergency a tetanus shot and removal of the fork I was good as new.

Thursday the following week we went to a party on a friends property, it was great, a big bonfire, good music, few bevies and catching up for an amazing BBQ with amazing people.

I decided to help clean up and was taking some plates into the house, it was toasty warm inside with a raging potbelly heating the house. Once inside my friend tripped and spilled corn kernels all over the floor, I slipped and yes landed clumsy cow I am I landed straight on the potbelly with my right hand, wow never have I felt pain like it.

My hand instantly blistered and throbbed, everyone there were drinking and nobody could drive me to the hospital so I rode the night out with my hand in a bucket of iced water.

The next day my husband took me into a chemist and asked for something for a burn, the chemist asked me to show him my burn, I showed him my hand and he was horrified he looked at my husband like he was crazy and said get her straight to a doctor. The entire palm of my hand was a massive blister.

I felt like the clumsiest person alive and as the pain subsided and a visit to the emergency I was all sorted. Once it healed I never even had a scar.

Thursday number three, I was looking forward to watching the Wimbledon grand final, being winter I thought I would take the portable TV into the bedroom and watch the tennis in my cosy warm bed.

I unplugged the TV and went to walk into the bedroom and yes you guessed it, I tripped, down I went face first onto the TV.

I had a piece of the TV stab me under the chin, my teeth bit straight through my tongue and shattered together, I snapped my jaw on the left hand side and fractured it in two other places, dear lord what a mess.

My lovely husband came in to see what I was up to and looked at me laying on the floor and typical man style said “what are you doing?”

I thought are you for real haha. He realised then I was in a bit of a way and got me up and into the car, back to emergency we went.

Once there he got taken away and investigated for domestic violence, poor bugger he was getting blamed for my clumsiness.

This one took a while to get over, I lost six molars, my bottom tooth and my front tooth. But I recovered well, a lot of dentistry but all good. My jaw was a clean break so did not require wiring luckily. I had a staple diet of soup for quite a while and lost a good lot of weight which was a bonus.

I have to admit I wrapped myself in cotton wool on Thursdays after that fun trio haha.

I am forever hopeful that I will have another trio of events however I want them to be amazing haha.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

Dot@01233478

Author: mylifeafterfifty488934292

I am a 54 year old woman struggling with getting older, I love life, my family and I love to be challenged. My blog is all about my journey both toward and after turning 50 hope you enjoy šŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “It all happens in threes -Dorothy Symonds”

Leave a comment